Community Day Students Earn Top Honors in Teen Writing Contest

Date Published: 
February 1, 2013
News Type: 

Six students from Community Day Charter Public School (CDCPS) have been selected as winners of The Boston Globe Scholastic Art and Writing Contest, the most CDCPS students ever to win these awards in the same year.

The Scholastic Art and Writing Contest, entering its 90th year, is the nation’s oldest continuously run art and writing competition and is a source of scholarships for young artists. The Awards recognize student achievement in the visual and literary arts in 28 categories, including poetry, graphic design, fashion, science fiction, video game design and more. The Awards have acknowledged and inspired millions of students including Andy Warhol, Robert Redford, Zac Posen, Sylvia Plath, Joyce Carol Oates, who won when they were teens. There are over 100 regional programs across the country, offering students in grades seven through 12 an opportunity to submit their work for the chance of receiving scholarships and national recognition. In Massachusetts, the contest is run through the Boston Globe.

“We are incredibly proud of these talented students,” said Kennedy Hilario, Director of Charter Schools for Community Group. “Their creativity and success is an inspiration to their fellow classmates, teachers, and the entire Lawrence community.”

Community Day Public Charter School student winners are as follows:

Marques Mendoza, Honorable Mention (Poetry)

Sean Jiminez, Honorable Mention (Personal Essay)

Melanio Vargas, Honorable Mention (Humor)

Nicole Rivera, Honorable Mention (Personal Essay/Flash Fiction)

Joannie Molina, Silver Key Winner (Flash Fiction)

Khalyl Negron, Gold Key Winner (Poetry)

CDCPS students earned top scores across writing categories including poetry, personal essay, humor, and flash fiction. Two students were selected as Silver Key and Gold Key winners, the top two highest levels of achievement at the regional level. These two students will be recognized at Scholastic’s awards ceremony in Boston this March. For a complete list of MA winners, visit: